Familiar Face Leads Rebel Soccer Team

Graham Doty

The Ole Miss Soccer team has seventeen new faces on the team this year.  Of the returning players, Alley Ronaldi is one to watch.

Alley Ronaldi is the starting goalkeeper for the Ole Miss Soccer team.  She was thrown into action as a freshman midway through last season after another player was injured.

“The South Carolina game was my first game to start, and I remember the first game, the best part of my preparation for that game was having people encourage me,” Ronaldi said.

The starting goalkeeper’s job wasn’t given to Alley.  Her hard work and dedication earned her coaches’ respect.

“Her time came, her opportunity was there, and she was ready for it. Now she is a starter as a sophomore, which is huge. I think she is a great example to other freshmen,” head Coach Steve Holeman said.

Alley is a sophomore with an undeclared major from The Woodlands, Texas.  She has strong Ole Miss ties, though, since both of her parents are graduates.

“I have always loved Ole Miss, just because I have been here before. It was the first college I think I have ever set foot on kind of thing, and I have been “groving” since I was three. There are pictures of me with my mom holding me, and she is wearing a Rebel outfit,” Ronaldi said.

Ronaldi succeeds both on and off the soccer field.  Last year she was named to the SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll.

“It means a lot to me because soccer is incredibly important to me. But grades obviously have to be, too. It’s good to have a balance like that,” Ronaldi said.

Soccer has helped mold Alley into the person she is today.  Her hard work and dedication have helped her to excel in all aspects of her life.

The Ole Miss Soccer team is back in action this weekend as they host South Carolina on Friday and Florida on Sunday. A complete schedule for the Ole Miss Soccer team can be found here.

~ by grahamdoty on October 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
